- If an athlete takes off from two feet.
- If the athlete touches the landing area beyond the plane of the bar without clearing the bar.
- If the athlete knocks the bar off the support;
There is a common myth that if an athlete scrambles off the mat before the bar falls, then it is not a foul. This is incorrect. If the Chief Judge determines that the bar fell as a result of the athlete touching it on the way over then it will be a foul, regardless of where the athlete is when the bar eventually falls. It is up to the Chief Judge as to when they stop and steady a bar that is bouncing on the supports.